Monday drew record crowds for the start of the main draw. The day’s excitement began with Junior Wimbledon champion Denis Shapovalov of Canada vs. U.S. player Michael Mmoh, with Mmoh coming out on top in the final qualifying round to earn a spot in the main draw. Second-seeded Bjorn Fratangelo of the United States overcame up-and-comer Noah Rubin, also an American and a tournament wild card, in three sets, while Frances Tiafoe, seeded fourth, also took three sets to dispatch fellow American Alexander Sarkissian.

Slovenians Blaz Rola and Grega Zemlja got the better of David O’Hare of Ireland and Joe Salisbury of Great Britain in the final round of doubles qualifying. “O’Hare and Salisbury had their chances in the second set being up a service break on two occasions but could not convert,” said tournament director Brendan Curry.

The action on Tuesday begins with Americans Brian Baker and Austin Krajicek, and it’s a match to watch, along with the afternoon feature match. “Tomorrow’s feature match at 3 p.m. is sure to be a humdinger, with Germany’s Benjamin Becker, the Challenger’s number one seed facing off against American Tommy Paul,” said Curry. 

Men’s Singles – First Round
[2] Bjorn Fratangelo (USA) d [WC] Noah Rubin (USA) 67(5) 75 63
[4] Frances Tiafoe (USA) d Alexander Sarkissian (USA) 64 36 75
[6] Stefan Kozlov (USA) Guilherme Clezar (BRA) 62 62
[8] Quentin Halys (FRA) d Blaz Rola (SLO) 57 76(5) 61
Mitchell Krueger (USA) d Grega Zemlja 61 64

Men’s Qualifying Singles – Third Round
Qualifying – Michael Mmoh (USA) d [2] Denis Shapovalov (CAN) 64 64
Qualifying – [8] Salvatore Caruso (ITA) d [3] Emilio Gomez (ECU) 60 63
Qualifying – [5] Lloyd Glasspool (GBR) d Dennis Nevolo (USA) 63 46 76(3)
Qualifying – [7] Brydan Klein (GBR) d Matt Reid (AUS) 63 75

Men’s Qualifying Doubles – Final Round
Qualifying – Blaz Rola (SLO)/Grega Zemlja (SLO) d [1] David O’Hare (IRL)/Joe Salisbury (GBR) 63 75


 Center Court start 10 a.m.
[WC] Brian Baker (USA) vs. Austin Krajicek (USA)
[Q] Brydan Klein (GBR) vs. [3] T. Smyczek (USA)
Daniel Nguyen (USA) vs. Sam Groth (AUS)

Not Before 3 p.m.
[1] Benjamin Becker (GER) vs. Tommy Paul (USA)

Not Before 4:30 p.m.
Bjorn Fratangelo (USA)/Tim Smyczek (USA) vs. [WC] Sekou Bangoura (USA) / Mitchell Krueger (USA) 

Court 1 start 10 a.m.
John-Patrick Smith (AUS) vs. Marcelo Arevalo (ESA)
Tennys Sandgren (USA) vs. [Q] Michael Mmoh (USA)
[Q] Salvatore Caruso (ITA) vs. [7] Ernesto Escobedo (USA)
[WC] R. Bellamy (USA) vs. [5] D. Novikov (USA)

Court 4 start 10 a.m.
Yuki Bhambri (IND) vs. Darian King (BAR)
Joris De Loore (BEL) vs. [Q] Lloyd Glasspool (GBR)
Peter Polansky (CAN) vs. [WC] Mackenzie McDonald (USA)

Not Before 2 p.m.
[3] M. Reid (AUS)/John-Patrick Smith (AUS) vs. Stefan Kozlov (USA)/Austin Krajicek (USA)