Highlight singles match of the day had Michael Mmoh (USA) saving match point in the third set tiebreaker against German Tobias Kamke. Kamke is no stranger to Tiburon, taking the singles title in 2010, and after breaking Mmoh as he served for the match at 5-4 in the final set, it was looking like he could pull off the win. Mmoh was able to keep his composure, however, and delivered two massive serves to take the match 9-7 in the third set tiebreaker.

It was an all-doubles afternoon that didn’t disappoint, with match points being saved by the number-one seeds to keep their title hopes alive. Marcelo Arevalo (ESA) partnering with Miguel Reyes-Varela (MEX), won their thirteenth straight match after being down 7-9 in the match tiebreaker against Darian King (BAR) and Cameron Norrie (GBR).

Number 4 seeds Mikelis Libietis (LAT) and Andreas Siljestrom (SWE) went the distance against South African Ruan Roelofse and American Mitchell Krueger with Libietis/Siljestrom taking it 10-8 in the third set tiebreaker.

The final match of the day kept everyone glued to their seats with yet another match tiebreaker decision. Mmoh and Deiton Baughman (USA) wn the first set 6-1 and lost the second 6-7 to Frank Dancevic (CAN) and Ruben Bemelmans (BEL). The match tiebreaker saw both teams having chances, but some strong and creative volleying from Dancevic combined with Bemelmans’ lefty ground strokes got them across the finish line and into the next round, winning the match breaker 10-7.

One of the highlight match-ups tomorrow will be the Denis Kudla vs. Mackenzie MacDonald draw.

Men’s Singles, Second Round

[4] M. Mmoh (USA) d. T. Kamke (GER) 63 26 76(7)
[8] C. Norrie (GBR) d. M. Krueger (USA) 46 62 62
F. Dancevic (CAN) d. [WC] T. Fawcett (USA) 63 64
P. Gunneswaran (IND) d. [Q] D. Baughman (USA) 76(5) 64

Men’s Doubles, First Round

[1] M. Arevalo (ESA) / M. Reyes-Varela (MEX) d. D. King (BAR) / C. Norrie (GBR) 67(4) 63 11-9
[2] L. Bambridge (GBR) / D. O’Hare (IRE) d T. Sandgren (USA) / T. Smyczek (USA) 63 36 10-5
[3] B. Klein (GBR) / J. Salisbury (GBR) d D. Kudla (USA) / M. McDonald (USA) 36 61 10-8
[4] M. Libietis (LAT) / A. Siljestrom (SWE) d M. Krueger (USA) / R. Roelofse (RSA) 61 26 10-7
[PR] R. Bemelmans (BEL) / F. Dancevic (CAN) d [WC] D. Baughman (USA) / M. Mmoh (USA) 06 76(6) 10-6
[Q] T. Fawcett (USA) / E. Leshem (ISR) d H Hach Verdugo (MEX) / R. Ramanathan (IND) 61 61